We’re having a heatwave!

Now I chose that headline because of course we are here in Melbourne going through a bit of a hot spell this week. Up to around 40 degrees celsius tomorrow’s forecast.

IMG_7465

 

The other reason I chose it is because it reminds me of my mum. My mum belongs to a women’s club in the UK and back probably around 40 years ago they used to do shows. And that included singing and dancing. My mum, God love her, cannot sing a note. So this song just reminds me of cringing in my chair watching these women (I thought they were old, probably about 40-45) singing and dancing. But she gave it a go.

 

Talking of mothers, my husband’s mother is rumoured to be coming to visit. She lives in Athens, Greece and she’s in her mid seventies. Since my husband’s sister moved over to Australia with her triplet children aged 9 a couple of years ago this is not a surprise. I can only imagine how much she misses them being a part of her life. It’s easy for us, we have one child, it’s not a massive expense for us to visit. Taking three kids is a bit different. So in a couple of months she is coming – though nothing is confirmed because for some reason my husband’s family are very secretive! Can’t imagine any of them blogging about their life very candidly!

In other news – last night I went to my first soccer match in Melbourne. South Melbourne are the local Greek team been around for years so we went to watch the season opener. Took all the kids. What a great match to experience, they won 6-0! I happened to sit next to number 11’s mum and dad! So huge shout out to Bradley Norton who actually played a blinder.

All the shouting and hollering left me hungry and thirsty and I ate badly when I got home, some crisps and some chocolate. I’ve woken up this morning with the headache from hell! So trying out what I often recommend to others, some Aloe Heat Lotion on my temples and by jove I think it’s working!

Also of course gave myself a good talking to re the eating. I’m having a day of hitting the protein shake as a meal replacement today, just breakfast and dinner and will eat the roast chicken I’m making with a salad for lunch.

That’s it for me this morning – I have something interesting to do tonight which I will share with you tomorrow!

“We’re having a heatwave, a tropical heatwave.
The temperature’s rising, it’s hardly surprising
She certainly can, can-can.”

Irving Berlin

Leave a comment