30 days….of sex. Day 3

So, I have been married for a while but been together with my husband for a little over 25 years. Things do get stale, things do get tired. You can easily find yourselves as best friends but not much more.
You may find yourselves thinking, well not tonight I’m tired, he’s tired, the house is dirty, I’m not in the mood, he’s pissed me off, I feel fat, I feel ugly, I can’t be bothered….oh I could write a book of excuses and so could he.

I would say we were in a rut. Best friends, totally love each other but nevertheless in a rut.

So a couple of weeks ago I read an article – it was random by a friend who I’ve never met but we’re friends on social media brought together by triathlon. He had done a ‘social experiment’ with his partner.

Sex every day for 30 days. And it was good. And it brought them closer together. They are our age, in their fifties. But not together as long as us so have that fresh chemistry on their side!

After a week of mulling it over in my mind I finally showed it to my husband. I’m not going to share how long it’s been since we’ve danced the horizontal tango but I will say it has been way too long!

He smiled at me and said, yep let’s try this. Today is day 3. And wow, the tension in the air has gone. The elephant in the room, he who could not be named – also gone. And we’re having fun.

So I’m obviously analyzing all of this in my head – I actually think it’s eased the pressure. It doesn’t have to be perfect, the mood doesn’t need to be set, no candles and sexy lingerie – sure some days it will be. But if you know it’s going to happen every day anyway, it takes the pressure off. I know we are only on Day 3 but I think 30 days is very doable. Certainly a lot more fun than the Febfast (no alcohol for this month) that I’m currently undergoing.

I want to thank Tom Demerly for his article and what could possibly be a marriage saver for some, even us.

Also apologies to my family who will be cringing as they read this – lol.

“So if you’re in a rut, or not sure – well I would say give it a go.
You’ve nothing to lose!
Live a positive life and makes some changes.”

IMG_1635
A couple of things that mean so much to me – the top one was purchased in a ‘fairy’ shop in Olinda on a romantic weekend away last year. The second is a tealight holder we found in Andros on a holiday at least 20 years ago. For me it represents the light that remains in our relationship – occasionally the light burns out but we renew the candle and the flame burns bright.

Leave a comment